Letter from the Honourable Jeff Leal to the Grape Growers of Ontario membership


On March 28, 2017, the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs provided the Grape Growers of Ontario with a letter supporting regulated marketing in Ontario. The following is an excerpt of the letter, and the full letter can be read here.

"These actions do not impact any other marketing boards regulated under the Farm Products Marketing Act. As I have stated on numerous occasions, our government has not wavered from its commitment to maintain regulated marketing in Ontario. This includes the ability of marketing boards to negotiate collectively on behalf of their members where such a requirement is included in the powers delegated to that board, as is the case for the Grape Growers of Ontario."  Minister Jeff Leal, Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Summer edition of the 2017 CCOVI Newsletter

Click here to view the summer edition of the 2017 CCOVI Newsletter.

Triggs Lecture Series

The Triggs International Premium Vinifera Lecture Series, hosted by Brock's Cool Climate Oenology and Viticulture Institute (CCOVI) marks its landmark 10th instalment this year by featuring a European expert who will explore crop development practices relevant to many North American grape growers.

Held every two years in the key wine producing regions of both Ontario and British Columbia, the Triggs Lecture has blossomed into a must-see event on many calendars in the grape and wine industry.

This year’s lectures and vineyard tours take place Aug. 3 and 4 at Brock University and at four vineyard sites in Ontario’s Niagara region; and on Aug. 8 and 9 in the Kelowna area and Summerland Research and Development Centre in B.C.’s Okanagan Valley.   Read more on Triggs lecture series

Click below for Schedule for Ontario event:

Ministers agree to new agricultural policy and commit to reviewing BRM programs


The following information was provided by the Canadian Horticulture Council:

Federal, provincial and territorial (FPT) Ministers of Agriculture recently agreed to key elements of the Canadian Agricultural Partnership (previously known as the Next Agricultural Policy Framework)―a five-year, $3 billion investment that will come into effect on April 1, 2018―as well as committed to reviewing Business Risk Management (BRM) programs.

AgGrowth Coalition
CHC is pleased that FPT governments have responded to the concerns of the AgGrowth Coalition and have committed to a meaningful review of BRM programs. The coalition will be collecting data to support constructive change, and is striving to ensure that industry is actively involved in the review of the programs. The AgGrowth Coalition is comprised of: the Canadian Federation of Agriculture, the Canadian Canola Growers Association, Grain Growers of Canada, Grain Farmers of Ontario, the National Sheep Network, and the Canadian Horticultural Council.

Concerns with BRM programs

News from The Grower

Loblaws Talks Minimum Wage
Loblaw Companies Ltd. adds its voice to the discussion on minimum wage hikes.
The first round of NAFTA talks will begin in August.
National Food Policy Survey Extended
The federal government national food policy survey deadline is August 31st.

July 31, 2017 | The Grower

Brock chooses collaborative academic leader as its next President


A proven Canadian collaborative academic leader, Gervan Fearon, will be Brock University’s next President and Vice-Chancellor.

Dr. Fearon has spent numerous years in senior leadership roles at Canadian universities, and is currently President of Manitoba’s Brandon University. He commences his new duties at Brock on Aug. 1.

2017 Winery of the Year

The Grape Growers of Ontario congratulate Redstone Winery on being named Winery of the Year by WineAlign National Wine Awards of Canada.

For more information, please click here.

Condolences ~ John Lewis (Lew) Puddicombe

It is with deepest sympathies that we advise you of the passing of John Lewis (Lew) Puddicombe on July 14th in his 94th year.

Lew was a lifelong resident of Winona, and was a graduate of Guelph University (1947) studying Horticulture. After the passing of his father in 1951, Lew with his wife Bobbe by his side, continued farming until their retirement.

Lew was actively involved in various farm related organizations, and was a Grape Growers of Ontario Board Director from 1972-1978, and a Committee member from 1972-1983. He was a Director for many years of the Ontario Tender Fruit Producers Marketing Board, Ontario Federation of Agriculture and the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers' Association.

Lew was also the past President of the Grimsby Curling Club (1964-1965), Chairman of the Group Committee for the Winona Boy Scouts and a member of the St. John’s Anglican Church in Winona.

Friends will be received at the Donald V. Brown Funeral Home, Stoney Creek on Thursday, July 20, 2017 from 7-9 p.m. The Funeral Service will be held on Friday, July 21, 2017 at St. John’s Anglican Church, 1285 Hwy #8, Winona at 10:30 a.m. The interment to follow.

In lieu of flowers, donations can be made to St. John’s Anglican Church, Winona or the charity of your choice.

Condolences ~ Jacob Dueck

It is with deepest sympathies the Grape Growers of Ontario learned of the sudden passing of long-time Niagara-on-the-Lake grape grower Jacob Dueck on Wednesday July 12, 2017 at the age of 93 years. Jake was pre-deceased by his wife Anne (Nickel) in 2016. Father of Sam Sr. (Karen) and Ruth (Peter) Maltese, and grandfather of six and great-grandfather of 2.

The family will receive friends at the Scott St. Mennonite Brethren Church, 339 Scott St, on Monday from 6:30 - 8:30pm. The Funeral Service will be held in the Church on Tuesday July 18, 2017 at 10am. Interment at Niagara Lakeshore Cemetery. If desired, memorial donations may be made to Teen Challenge. Online condolences at www.tallmanfuneralhomes.ca.

Lieutenant Governor's Award for Excellence in Ontario Wines

The Lieutenant Governor's Award for Excellence in Ontario Wines ceremony was held at Queen's Park on Wednesday, July 12, 2017. The Grape Growers of Ontario congratulate all nominees and winners of the 2017 awards.

  • Chateau des Charmes - Gamay Noir “Droit” St. David’s Bench Vineyard, 2015
  • Creekside Estate Winery - Iconoclast Semillon Sauvingon Blanc, 2015
  • Flat Rock Cellars - The Rusty Shed Chardonnay, 2014
  • Henry of Pelham Family Estate Winery - Riesling Estate, 2016
  • Inniskillin - Sparkling Vidal Icewine, 2014
  • Kew Vineyards Estate Winery - Heritage, 2012
  • Magnotta Winery - Blac de Blanca, NV
  • NOMAD at Hinterbrook - Cabernet Franc, 2013
  • Trius Winery - Showcase Clean Slate Wild Ferment Sauvignon Blanc, 2015
  • Trius Winery - Showcase Vidal Icewine, 2014
  • Trius Winery - Showcase Riesling Ghost Creek Vineyard, 2014